What do Honey Boo Boo & Olivia Pope Have in Common?

On the outside Honey Boo Boo and Olivia Pope seem polar opposites.

On the inside… well… they’re probably still polar opposites.  If you’re looking for the connection between the two don’t hurt yourself thinking, I’ll just tell you.

The connection between Honey Boo and Olivia Pope is the angry visceral, reaction that both of these women that is wrought from each of their audiences.

You know I’ve seen Here comes Honey Boo Boo Child (multiple episodes actually)  and after watching them I’m always left scratching my head. I always think… “This is it? this is what people are so angry about?”

Because from the episodes that I’ve seen they don’t do anything.

Sure they over eat, and they’re overweight, and hell yes they’re poor. But that’s pretty much all that I can think of.

The mother isn’t abusive(as far as I can tell). They aren’t going hungry.  Hell the mom even said she put the money from the show in a trust for the girls.

I can only ask myself why is anyone so upset with honey boo boo. How are they any different than the average overweight, overeating American?

On to Olivia Pope…..

 I’ve never actually seen Scandal. I’ve seen clips of Olivia and Fitz on the internet and I occasionally read recaps to update myself but when I saw those clips I thought to myself, again, “this is it? This is what people are so angry about?”

From the clips I saw of Olivia and Fitz they seem to be two people deeply in love and Fitz seems to have a life that he just can’t shake.

Most of the people seem to have some sort of problem with the fact that she’s having an affair with a married man. And I’m shaking my head as to why?

His wife apparently seemed to know and approve of his affair.  So if the wife doesn’t care Why doesn’t anyone else?

Why does an over sexualized, worry about myself, do whatever I want so long as it doesn’t “hurt anyone” society care about Olivia Pope getting it in with the POTUS?

Why is it that now those dormant moral bells are starting to cling when they see a woman having an affair? Why does a nation that is Known worldwide for obesity and overeating feel the need to jump on the case of Honey Boo Boo and Co?

Because it’s easy scapegoating.

For honey boo boo they’re poor and we all know that when it comes down to it the people who are going to take the most flack are poor people. If they were rich and doing pageants that wouldn’t be a problem.

For the black women(and others) who have problems don’t mind sex and debauchery when it’s other celebrities.  Hell Carrie on Sex and the City had an affair with Mr. Big and people’s minds didn’t explode. Black women have been being debauched for decades by black men for decades and black women have shucked and jived in their music videos, without stopping to think “Hey maybe this is bad.”

Neither do these people seem religious in some way.  This sudden crisis of conscious can’t be suddenly based on some sort of religious motivation hell most people think if they aren’t hurting anyone it’s okay. And the wife doesn’t even care.  So what’s the problem? And even if these people are religious I rarely hear any outcry from these same people at any other immoral behavior littering the television.

Instead this is another instance of scapegoating.  Something to be mad at just to be mad.And it makes it all the more juicy to call her out because she’s a black woman. (black men specifically can’t seem to wrap their minds around this show.)

Me on the other hand will sip a cool drink and watch the feathers fly.  But I’d advise the rest of you to either join me in watching everyone else debate these shows to death or keep it moving.

There’s nothing to see here.

PS this is a series of posts the next one is

Don’t give up privilege for the black community

https://notyourgirlfriday.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/dont-give-up-privilege-for-the-black-community/

 

Previous one:

They won’t be happy until you’ve been stripped of everything

https://notyourgirlfriday.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/they-wont-be-happy-until-youve-been-stripped-of-everything/

 

12 thoughts on “What do Honey Boo Boo & Olivia Pope Have in Common?

  1. I could not agree more. The people who complain about Honey Boo” are usually White people who think of themselves as highbrow, so I guess for them, it’s like having the other side of “White America” exposed to the world. I’ve never seen the show, but I do not doubt your assessment of it. As for Scandal, the only people who have taken issue with this soap opera are people who are anti-BW and ant-IRR, and people who can’t relate to a BW who isn’t your typical media stereotype of what we as BW are supposed to be. Everyone else who has seen it, that I know, loves it. Well, not everyone. I have friends and family that hate soap operas – period, but even a few of them like Scandal.

    One of the main (and much beloved) characters is addicted to torturing and killing people. I kid you not. But when it comes to that subject you can hear crickets chirp. It’s a very addictive show, and the funny part is, the affair between the main character and the President was officially over for more than 2 years before episode one, although they are still in love. So, people are upset about an “affair” where there’s been no sex for more than 3 years. LOL.

    I’ve read the posts about Scandal on Clutch and the same people (mostly BM, surprise) that always have something nasty and hateful to say about BW are the ONLY ones who are upset about the show. The way I see it, if the enemies of BW are this up in arms about Scandal the show is worth supporting, and I’m glad that it’s doing well. You should check it out sometime, but I’d recommend starting at the beginning (Netflix has season one and two). It’s less confusing that way. You will be amazed by what else has / is happening on this show, yet gets no complaints from these self-righteous idiots. 😉

    • I’ve read the posts about Scandal on Clutch and the same people (mostly BM, surprise) that always have something nasty and hateful to say about BW are the ONLY ones who are upset about the show. The way I see it, if the enemies of BW are this up in arms about Scandal the show is worth supporting, and I’m glad that it’s doing well. You should check it out sometime, but I’d recommend starting at the beginning (Netflix has season one and two). It’s less confusing that way. You will be amazed by what else has / is happening on this show, yet gets no complaints from these self-righteous idiots

      I noticed the same thing. I read clutch to and it was suspicious how the anti -scandal people were supsciously bm.
      I was considering watching the show. but Idk if will b/c of the emotional roller coaster that soap operas are. But
      If i do decide to its good to know that it’s on netflix.

  2. The author of the following post : http://www.theamericanconservative.com/dreher/honey-boo-boo-nation/ hates Honey Boo Boo, because he wants being poor (especially welfare poor) and fat to be associated with Blacks only. He even calls it the “redneck minstrel show”. Such White people are only comfortable with Black people being held up for ridicule. That’s why THEY created “minstrel shows”.

    I’m not sure who this guy thinks he’s kidding. There’s nothing new about “White trash” Americans, nor their behavior patterns. But he’s right about the media previously hiding such people. I guess White folks like him hate being reminded that such people exist and that the rest of us know it. But we’ve ALWAYS known it. 😆

    • Wow I read the article he said that being poor and having multiple fathers was a “black” thing. WTH? Umm try a POOR thing. I wish pricks like this would stop spreading the lie that on all black people are on the welfare system and all white people are middle class and never take a dime out of the welfare system. SMH what a prick.

      Btw, odd question but for the life of me I can NOT figure out how to get those smiley face icons? How did you do that?

      • Yep. He’s heir to the throne of Prickdom. Next in line behind Rush Limbaugh, who also desperately wants everyone to believe the same thing. Apparently, they don’t realize that Black people and most other Americans can in fact read, and those interested in the truth can easily find it. The vast majority of welfare recipients are White, not Black. I believe, at the moment, they make up almost 80% of all welfare recipients. But this bull crap rhetoric is how they convince ignorant Whites to vote against their own best interests. They convince them that they will be hurting Black people. And there is nothing bigots like more than hurting the targets of their irrational hatred.

      • Almost forgot. To get a smiley face use the colon and back parenthesis. if you use the semi-colon and back parenthesis you will get a wink. I’ll put them in brackets so they won’t work. [: )] 🙂 and [; )] 😉 . But they must be right next to each other to work. HTH.

  3. Pingback: They won’t be happy until you’ve been stripped of everything | notyourgirlfriday

  4. Pingback: Don’t Give up Privilege for the black community | notyourgirlfriday

  5. Pingback: If feminism grants choices why isn’t femininity a choice for black women? | notyourgirlfriday

  6. Pingback: Asdfghjkl?……..O_o? …… Derp? | NotYourGirlFriday

Leave a Reply

