Welcome Back!!! 2013 Look Ahead

 

Happy 2013! I hope that you had a good holiday.  This year I  really want to focus on a few key things that I think black women would really benefit from

Staying Neutral.

I think as 2013 starts it is important for black women to remember that we are not obligated, required and do not need to be guilted into supporting movements that as I have explained before do not benefit black women, and in fact harm them. Case in point right off the bat I read in an article that actor Donald Glover ( whose plays Troy Barnes on my favorite show Community) is being cast to play Lena Dunham’s character’s boyfriend on the show GIRLS. I think this is a perfect example again of why black women should feel NO guilt  walking away from feminism.  *No it’s not because I’m uncomfortable with Donald Glover’s character being in an interracial relationship* Rather the biggest thing that jumps out at me about this casting what I’ve always said about why feminism doesn’t work for women.  Because when I comes down to it black women will not benefit from being a minority(as would the black man in this case) because they are a woman. After all of the outrage that occurred from women of color who had a problem with the show being called “Girls” when it featured only white, upper middle class women, Lena Dunham and entourage decided to give minority women a voice by casting who? A black man.  If this show hadn’t already told black women ( and women of color) to drop dead, this casting wouldn’t have been a problem. BUT and it’s a big BUT that requires me to point out AGAIN that as many have said before me: “All the women are white all the blacks are men.”  Basically this show has on lock the “girls” spot by white women who have decided to speak for everyone. And now that it is time to show some “local color” its time to fly in a “black man” who of course can speak for all blacks.

Someone on Clutch (I won’t post the article look it up) said:

SayWhat

January 8, 2013 at 8:08 pm

What I like is how she basically told black women to ‘suck it’. Black women complained because they wanted to be included, after all, this is a show centered on women (not that the men don’t count, but it’s not called girls for nothing) and we were completely left out.
How did she respond? by choosing to add a black man before she adds a black woman. The black community is quick to give white women a pass as if they can’t be racist, but she in my opinion just told black women that hell will freeze over first before she sees us as equals.

 

Again I can’t even express anger, because *I know* that white feminists will always choose to support a black man over the supposed “sisterhood” with black women (probably because the majority can actually *sleep* with them)  and I hope instances like this that are happening with more frequency will free black women of the chains of supposed “civil rights”ideology. Black women must have their own stuff and stop looking to sisterhood.  Black women need to stop begging for a trickle from other groups and must build their own communities and entertainment.

And speaking of chains…

Looking at the other end of the spectrum, “Django Unchained” *whipped* its way into theaters recently. Leaving everyone in *awe* about how “awesome” the movie was. Meanwhile black women have either been frothing at the mouth because  Kerry Washington’s character got no voice in the movie (literally and figuratively) and other black women pulling out the confetti and streamers because Blacks have (supposedly) finally gotten a voice.

The only thing I can see from this movie (which I will NOT go see) is this is another attempt by every other group involved. To erase black women from existence (or push them into minimal spots). The entire movie is about how this black man is getting his wife (and through her his manhood) back from the white man.  This movie is so *UNIVERSAL* that they are even making action figures out of the characters. Again this is just another example how  “All the women are white and all the blacks are men.”

Black women are supposed to see this movie in droves.  They are supposed to identify with it. (Because it is easier for black women put away identity and identify with black men. Instead of vice versa.) And it is never vice versa.

In actuality this movie is just another reason why black women must pull what Whataboutourdaughters calls an “ignorecott”. This year we as black women, must, must, must put away our mainstream and even Black Community media sources and look to other off beat, less popular ways of finding our identity.  It is imperative for black women to stop looking to a media source that has perpetually said F-U to black women while continuing to take our resources.

On the topic of Whataboutourdaughters.com  there was an article from a disgruntled woman writing in about how offended she was that Kanye choose Kim Kartrashian as a baby momma.  This  year I want to focus on black women expanding their dating options beyond black men. Second I hope to write some articles about how the black men who are “abandoning” black women were garbage to begin with. Why would any black women wish Kanye West on another black women. We should be grateful that he didn’t just add to the single mothers pile in the black community. At least he took that bad behavior outward. This year black women must, must, must (and my articles will talk about this) let the bedraggled black men go. We do not need them.

Last year when Michael Ealy? Got married secretly to a white women black women were upset from some slight they felt towards them. I have to say that these black women would not feel slighted if they ignore the haters and dated outwards and opened their options. Too many black women are taught that they only have one option, that only one group will love them.  (I am not really an interracial blog ) but I think it is imperative for black women to expand.

The final thing that I want to focus on this year is health. This is a big topic even for me and I plan to write many articles this year on this topic.  I feel that it is important for me to get in some reasonable shape (I’m alright now but I’d like to be better).

Anyways, happy new year!  If you can think of any topics that should be covered this year let me know. I’d be glad to write about them.

Until Next Time,

Stay Neutral.

http://www.whataboutourdaughters.com/waod/2013/1/7/be-proactive-ignorecotting-baby-kimye.html#comments

4 thoughts on “Welcome Back!!! 2013 Look Ahead

  1. YES!!!! I love this. We are so reactionary as Black women. It reminds me of the Dawn Harper and Kellie Wells thing during the olympics. Sometimes you do not have to give an answer even when pushed.

    You said so much in this post I dont know where to begin. If Black women dont know by now that as a collective white women dont care about them, then phooey on us. We are our own separate entity and should behave as such. White women only need us to make them feel better about their supposed superior beauty. For a group of women that are supposed to be so damn hot, why is there an entire media campaign and advertising machine to convince us (and everyone else) of such?

    Them frizzle fowls with them phuckup face arent pretty. Inside or out. Most are racist and would love for Black women to just disappear. This is why they keep trying to dupe us into being the face of obesity,strength and any other abberation they avoid.

    They age so quickly and are completely jealous of the way Black women are beautiful basically until we die. I see the poster for that Girls show and I’m like “someone willingly stares at that face for an hour or so?

    I think some awesome topics you could cover for the new year are some fashion items, money management, elevation for Black women via career choice, great and innovative ways to meet quality men and becoming unified so that we can take our purchasing power and use it to better our group through politics as well as imagery.

    Also, a good topic would be knowing when to charge some Black women to the game.

    Overall, I enjoy your blog immensely and I am glad to read and comment here.

    • YES!!!! I love this. We are so reactionary as Black women. It reminds me of the Dawn Harper and Kellie Wells thing during the olympics. Sometimes you do not have to give an answer even when pushe

      You have a point. It seems to me that black women just DO NOT know when to keep their mouth shut! Honestly for a group of women who claim that they are the bottom we always seem to make it worse by excessive talking that actually worsens the situation. (im going to do a post on this soon.)

      I think some awesome topics you could cover for the new year are some fashion items, money management, elevation for Black women via career choice, great and innovative ways to meet quality men and becoming unified so that we can take our purchasing power and use it to better our group through politics as well as imagery.

      Also, a good topic would be knowing when to charge some Black women to the game.

      Overall, I enjoy your blog immensely and I am glad to read and comment here.

      This is are some great suggestions I will definitely try and do all of them. (But sepcifically the fashion items and the different careers and purchasing power.) Thanks for the suggestions and for commenting!

      I’m glad that you enjoy my blog!

  2. Pingback: Another 2013 Look Ahead! Very Important Announcements! | notyourgirlfriday

  3. I just finished reading through all the archives. Thanks for taking the time to break it all down, explain, analyse and put it all on the www, so that other BW can get at it.

    Well, I’m going to confess, I never heard of Crenshaw’s Intersectionality. I read it and found myself nodding my head – until I looked at it again and realized when in was written…

    Reminds me of high school science class: my teacher explained to us how those scientists came up with theories to explain how the natural world worked. Basically, the simplest theory which explained what happened, and correctly predicted what would happen would be accepted. Until a new observation disproved it, and then everyone worked to refine the theory.

    Your application of this theory have finally answered those previously vague feelings of confusion as to why these two movements that claim to help BW just aren’t working. And explains that disjunction between what my eyes see and what my ears hear.

    If you have time in May, it would be great to read more about staying neutral and related strategies like ignorecotting. Thanks for sharing that link. Great Post!

Leave a Reply

