Girls, Chris Rock, And the Sweet, Sweet Unnoticed Irony

I have never seen GIRLS the television show on HBO. And I don’t plan on it either.  I’m sorry but women having indiscriminate sex and generally being terrible people just doesn’t appeal to me.  But unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve heard about the backlash that has come from the fact that Girls has no black or minority women.

Recently an article on Clutch Magazine was talking why  the creator of the show didn’t write any minority characters.

“I wrote the first season primarily by myself, and I co-wrote a few episodes. But I am a half-Jew, half-WASP, and I wrote two Jews and two WASPs. Something I wanted to avoid was tokenism in casting. If I had one of the four girls, if, for example, she was African-American, I feel like — not that the experience of an African-American girl and a white girl are drastically different, but there has to be specificity to that experience [that] I wasn’t able to speak to. I really wrote the show from a gut-level place, and each character was a piece of me or based on someone close to me. And only later did I realize that it was four white girls. As much as I can say it was an accident, it was only later as the criticism came out, I thought, ‘I hear this and I want to respond to it.’ And this is a hard issue to speak to because all I want to do is sound sensitive and not say anything that will horrify anyone or make them feel more isolated, but I did write something that was super-specific to my experience, and I always want to avoid rendering an experience I can’t speak to accurately.”

I want you all to see the fuckery of this statement. I want you to smell it, Breath it in, bathe in it. I want it to seep into your pores. I want you to make love… well you get the picture. See the classic thing that white female feminists love to do is to “help” black women. For our own good of course.  They like to explain away their racist actions with wide eyed innocence of why they didn’t actually do what we all saw them do. Even if their palms are covered in blood, they’ve got a knife in one hand, and a body (usually ours) is sprawled on the floor.

This is why it is imperative to stay away (as far away as possible) from the feminist movement. Because these women are walking around with a loaded gun on your back, waiting to pull the trigger. What’s worse is they refuse to acknowledge that they’ve a damn gun stabbed into your spine.

This is classic non reciprocity that every BWE blogger has ever stated. But it goes even worse. Because not only are feminists not reciprocal they are lethal. See these women think they’re doing me a favor by excluding me. Because it would be far too hard for Lena Dunham to work with an African American woman and do her justice. She just wouldn’t do a black woman justice. Because as similar as we are( her words) when we’re all getting fucked over by “the man” once they’ve gained the privileges they as stated before are going to use race to erase you from existence. Somehow now I fall under “Black”. But I thought you just said we were the same?

What happened to what every other twenty something feminist was peddling. That we were WOMEN first? Funny how that goes out the window. Funny how race suddenly comes into play. Funny how the foothold that they’ve gained as women doesn’t extend to me. Funny how because she didn’t want to have “tokens” she left black women out completely.

Because now that these  feminists have gotten ahead they need to trample us to stay ahead.  We’re only good enough to protect them from the massacre that would happen if they were to go against White Men head on alone. See they’re done using us for protests, and statistics, and examples. But again they can’t keep both privileges if they help us. And secretly they don’t want to.   This isn’t about her not wanting tokenism. It’s about not caring enough to actually research a character that isn’t white. She doesn’t have to care because now that she’s been granted equal access to a high profile prime time show slot. She’s not required to care.

Of course many of the brain dead, useless, black women over at clutch actually think Lena Dunham is doing us black women a favor.

(if You want to read the delusions go here. http://www.clutchmagonline.com/2012/05/lena-dunham-explains-why-her-girls-are-all-white/)

To state otherwise would be to go against “sisterhood”. But here’s what’s funny. I highly doubt white women would turn down a role that White Men offered them for fear of being the “token” woman. In fact I can guarantee that they wouldn’t. I’d bet my life. Instead they’d just castigate White Men until white men properly researched a fleshed out role and made it available.   And rightly they should. But I can see that doesn’t work for black women. Oh no. Instead, It’s better  easier to just leave black women out of it.

Which brings me to the next opposite side of the Fuckery pendulum. Chris rock tweeted this week. Yes hold your applause.  An ignoramus like that can actually use a computer. Chris Rock tweeted this week which isn’t remarkable because there are many desperate to stay relevant  “celebrities” who do. But it’s what he tweeted that really set the fires under me.

Chris Rock@chrisrock

 

Happy white peoples independence day the slaves weren’t free but I’m sure they enjoyed fireworks.

Let the horns blow. Roll out the red carpet. It’s time to defend the civil rights movement. I’m supposed to grab my guns and fire at the White Men who held black men people down. Because I as a black woman wouldn’t have been able to celebrate independence day. I’m black.

Tsk. Tisk. Tisk. I must call you out Chris Rock, for your shitty oversight. Here’s why I don’t GAF that black men couldn’t enjoy independence day. And why as a black woman independence day should just be another excuse to have a barbeque and relax, instead of making it into some political statement.  Can you guess? No? I’ll tell you.  AS A WOMAN I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO VOTE ANYWAYS. EVEN IF BLACK MEN WERE FREE, WOMEN HAD NO RIGHTS!!!!!! WOMEN  WERE STILL SEEN AS PROPERTY !!!!! WOMEN HAD NO RIGHTS!!!!

*Caps lock off*.  Which means that it’s all irrelevant.  when the emancipation proclamation was signed.  When we finally overcame. Black women were still fucked in the ass because all of the work was for nothing. They couldn’t use any of of the benefits black MEN had because WOMEN still weren’t seen as human beings. They were STILL considered property!

I said something like this on a clutch magazine article comment.

NCR

Yes He’s right. But hell if [i’m] not going to celebrate The fourth of July because black[s] weren’t free I might as well not celebrate the day the emancipation proclamation was signed because according to this logic WOMEN weren’t seen as equal and weren’t able to vote until some 45 years later.

It’s just a holiday. Mr. Man is right, most holidays are suspect anyways.

Surprise, surprise. Nobody said anything.  Not one person saw the irony in Chris Rock’s statement. The privileged oversight. Nobody responded. Because if BLACK WOMEN accepted that black wouldn’t have been  free anyways that would  blow their fucking minds.  It’s funny how black male civil rights activists say that about the 4th of July (but as any good misogynist does) they have complete oversight on the privileges they had and  have over black women because they’re men. In fact they just don’t care. They don’t want to care because they’re punch drunk off Male Privilege.

So I’m done. I’m done fighting causes that didn’t and wouldn’t benefit me. I’m done trying to rally. I’m not wasting my time.  If white women get fucked over. Too Damn bad.  And if black men feel the burning anger that the fourth of July gives them. Don’t involve me.  I’m not viewed as valuable to either group. Or either cause. They’re just pulling me along for the ride.  And in the end they’re both going to hurt me.   All I want to do is enjoy the fireworks and stay the fuck  sane. Most holidays are a sham anyways.

Until Next time,

Stay Neutral

5 thoughts on “Girls, Chris Rock, And the Sweet, Sweet Unnoticed Irony

  1. Pingback: Fools, Idiots, Morons, And Those Who are Too Stupid to Live, please read this post « notyourgirlfriday

  2. Pingback: Fools, Idiots, Morons, And Those Who are Too Stupid to Live, please read this post « Black Women Strategically Neutral

  3. Pingback: SING!! « notyourgirlfriday

  4. Pingback: Response to Comment « notyourgirlfriday

  5. “So I’m done. I’m done fighting causes that didn’t and wouldn’t benefit me. I’m done trying to rally. I’m not wasting my time. If white women get fucked over. Too Damn bad. And if black men feel the burning anger that the fourth of July gives them. Don’t involve me. I’m not viewed as valuable to either group. Or either cause. They’re just pulling me along for the ride. And in the end they’re both going to hurt me. All I want to do is enjoy the fireworks and stay the fuck sane. Most holidays are a sham anyways.”

    I so feel you…

Leave a Reply

